top of page
  • Writer's pictureCaroline Thérèse

The Other Side of Beauty by Leah Darrow


From the chapter Desiring Beauty of Leah Darrow's book, The Other Side of Beauty.

About a year and a half ago I was at the annual Ignited By Truth Catholic Conference for the first time. I was switching back and forth between the main stage and the high school track, and was really enjoying all of the speakers. I sat just a couple rows back as Leah Darrow gave her talk to the group of high schoolers, and was captivated by her uncommon story and way in which she shared it. It couldn't have been easy to tell the teenagers and volunteers sitting in front of her the situation she had been stuck in, and way she shared her heart with us impressed me. I saw that she was a strong Catholic woman, and wanted to learn more about her. I couldn't help but notice that she referenced her book - a book I didn't know existed until then - more than once during that hour or so. She'd say something like, "And if you want to learn more about that, you can always check out my book." So I filed that bit of information away in my brain, thinking I'd have to look up the book once I got home, and before long I had forgotten about it. Even as I thought back on the talk later and described it to friends, the book never crossed my mind.


Fast forward about a year, and I'm sitting with my siblings on Easter morning, looking in our Easter baskets. Within a couple of seconds I notice a book: The Other Side of Beauty: Embracing God's Vision for Love and True Worth by Leah Darrow. I couldn't wait to start it. However, I knew I needed to read the three books I had left for my honors classes, so I held off on beginning this "fun read". Finally, about a month later, it was the day before the last day of school. I had just finished my last honors exam, and the realization had just hit me that I could read whatever I wanted for the summer. I immediately found this book, picked up my purple pen, and started reading. It took about two pages before I recognized this would be a new favorite.


In The Other Side of Beauty, Leah shares her story and the struggles that brought her to the strong Catholic faith she has today. She gives a new look at beauty from many angles and shows how beauty, truth, and authenticity go hand-in-hand. Some of the struggles she had were pretty big and uncommon, but she brings it to a day to day level and gives practical tips on modesty and friendship right next to spiritual tips on living as a daughter of God. I would certainly recommend this book to all Catholic girls, high school to adult.


If you've read it, or if you decide to read it, let me know what you think, and what your favorite part is!


Before you go, read the words in the picture above. Read them again. Know that they are true - 100% - and go out and share that Truth with the world by living a good, authentic Catholic life.


Amazon Link: https://www.amazon.com/Other-Side-Beauty-Embracing-Vision/dp/0718090667/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1530908278&sr=8-1&keywords=the+other+side+of+beauty


50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page