top of page
  • Writer's pictureCaroline Thérèse

Treasure in Clay: The Autobiography of Fulton Sheen

Updated: Sep 11, 2018


Fulton Sheen - Treasures In Clay, Ch 3


In America, [he] is doing more than any archbishop or any bishop to make the Faith known and loved. He is one of the most truly apostolic souls of our times. He has the ear of Catholics; he has the ear of non-Catholics, and I rejoice to know that the Australians love him as much as we do. I brought him on this trip to give him some recognition and to pay a debt. But I find that I have only increased the debt - if there be such a thing. (ch 10; pg 143)


The name "Fulton Sheen" is very well known today. However, I wonder how many people who know his name actually know much about him. I, at least, did not know anything about him until I began to read his autobiography for my journalism elective last year. I was shocked and delighted to find his life so incredibly full of fascinating stories and his faith so authentic and deep. In fact, my poor paperback copy of this book is full of underlining, margin-notes, circled phrases, stars, and sticky notes!


In a time where media is very much at the center of many of our lives, we can all learn a lot from the example to Fulton Sheen, TV’s first religious broadcaster. He recognized the great ability that media has to reach millions, if not billions, more people than ever before, and he used that as a tool to evangelize.


Social media can be used as trap to ensnare people souls for evil, but Sheen has shown that it can also be used to draw souls back to their loving Father.


In Treasures In Clay, although I don't think he necessarily meant it to be this way, the stories he shares show aspects that even a detailed paper couldn't really show: they give insight into the way he lived, which was always for God. Even if it was full of wonderful adventures and opportunities, Bishop Sheen's wasn't an easy life by any stretch. Still, an inspiration to all priests, seminarians, and all who love them, the Bishop reveals through the story below how deeply he took to heart his responsibility as a bishop, and the great love he had for all of those entrusted to his care:


I remember once landing in the Los Angeles airport. The porter who took my bag said to me: "Everybody knows you; it must be wonderful to be a bishop." And I said to him: "Suppose you had four hundred children and ten were very sick and five were dying. Would you not worry and stay awake at night? Well, this is my family. It is not as wonderful as you think." (ch 8; pg 107)


So I encourage you, no matter your vocation or stage in life, to learn more about Fulton Sheen, to read his autobiography which we are so fortunate to have, and to always strive to imitate this holy man.


Here is one last excerpt from Treasures In Clay...


That afternoon, I called on the woman and her brother. He sat in an armchair, a very handsome, benign old man with a full head of white hair. I said: "How long has it been since you have been to Confession?" He said: "Seventy years." I said: "Would you not like to make your peace with God?" "No. That would be cowardice. Do you know my record? I have robbed banks and post offices to the tune of a quarter of a million dollars. I have spent over thirty years of my life in jail, and have killed two men. Why should I now, at the end of my life, be a coward and ask God to forgive me?" "Well," I said, "let us see how brave you are tomorrow morning. I will come here to your door at eight o'clock. I will not be alone; I will bring the Good Lord with me in the Blessed Sacrament. I am sure that you will not turn us both away." When I returned in the morning, he opened the door. I heard his confession and gave him Communion - which proved to be Viaticum because he died the next day. He was not the first thief the Lord saved on his last day. (ch 16; pg 292)


Fulton Sheen’s cause for canonization opened in 2002, and he is now on his way to becoming a “blessed”!


Venerable Servant of God Fulton J Sheen, ora pro nobis!


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page